The quality & quantity of teeth varies from species to species, every living being is blessed with certain unique set of teeth to perform certain functions. The number & names of the teeth human being has been covered in this article!

But before getting into it, let’s go through a short introduction to what these different types of teeth do individually.


The human teeth function to mechanically break down items of food by cutting and crushing them in preparation for swallowing and digesting.



Humans have four types of teeth: incisors, canines, premolars, and molars, each with a specific function. The incisors cut the food, the canines tear the food and the molars and premolars crush the food. The roots of teeth are embedded in the maxilla (upper jaw) or the mandible (lower jaw) and are covered by gums. Teeth are made of multiple tissues of varying density and hardness.





Names of the teeth & their functions:



The 4 kinds of teeth

1. Incisors
2. Canines
3. Premolars and
4. Molars




#1. Incisors


The incisors at the front of mouth have a sharp biting surface and are used for cutting or shearing food into small pieces.




#2. Canines


The canines are sharp teeth. The canine can be more or less pointed according to the people. Some have really pointed canines, while others have slightly rounded canines.

The canines are the teeth used to shred, tear and tear food. Canines have only one big root. The canines are arranged on each side of the incisors. Both children and adults have 4 canines, two at the top and two at the bottom.





#3. Premolars


The premolars have a shape ranging between the square and round. The surface of the premolars is not flat, it has two points. These points are called cusps. Premolars are used to crush and crush foods.

The premolars have one or two roots. Premolars are not part of the first dentition. Premolars grow only around 6/7 years old.





#4. Molars


The molars have a shape lying between the square and the round. The surface of the molars is not flat, it has four points.
These points are called cusps. Molars are teeth that are used to crush and crush foods.







Show your love in the comment box below if the post worth it, share it with your friends and family to let them groom. And don’t forget to join Softiview to get updated to more awesome posts like this!

Thanks for reading…


Get Healthy Teeth Forever Following These 5 Easy Tricks!



Leave a like
Copyright Softiview. All rights reserved 2018